You will find below the presentations given at the ESPO Conference 2018, which took place in Rotterdam on 31 May - 1 June. Click on the name of the speaker to see his/her presentation. 

Day One: Thursday, 31 May  2018

09h20  Opening Session

Welcome by
- Eamonn O’Reilly, Chairman, ESPO
- Allard Castelein, CEO, Port of Rotterdam 

09h45    Opening message from

Karima Delli, Chair of the Transport Committee of the European Parliament

Opening keynote speeches
- Lidewijde Ongering, Secretary-general Ministry for Infrastructure and Water Management
- Minister of State Karel De Gucht, President, Institute of European Studies (VUB), Former Minister of Foreign Affairs of Belgium and Former European Commissioner for Trade, State Minister: Europe as a global actor: the challenges and opportunities

Outlook for ports and shipping
Tim Power, Managing Director, Drewry: Trends in shipping and implications for ports

11h00   Coffee Break

11h30    Session 1 : The drivers of port infrastructure investments 

Moderator:  Magda Kopczynska, Director Maritime, DG MOVE, European Commission
René Buck, CEO, Buck Consultants International: Trade Globalisation or Investment Regionalisation? The impact on European seaports
Michael J. Ford, Chief Compliance Officer,  BDP International: Digitalization in the supply chain
Jan Kempers, Program Manager Sustainable Development, Supply Chain Services,  Heineken:  Shippers as drivers of sustainable supply chain
Steven Lak, Chairman, Deltalinqs: Impact of game changers and drivers on the port industries

View of the ports
- Joachim Coens, CEO, Port of Zeebrugge
- Santiago Garcia Míla, Deputy Executive Director, Port of Barcelona
- Jens Meier, CEO, Port of Hamburg

13h00    Lunch 

14h10  Keynote Speech

Beatriz Yordi, Director, European Commission, DG Climate Action, Directorate "European & International Carbon Markets": Decarbonizing the shipping sector: the way forward

14h25   Session 2:  Financing the diverse port investment needs

Moderator:  Annaleena Mäkilä, Vice Chair, ESPO
Andreas Boschen, Head of Department – Connecting Europe Facility, INEA, Innovation and Networks Executive Agency: CEF funding: how are ports benefitting from it?
- Olivier Bramaud-Grattau, Senior Investment Director at Meridiam and Chairman of the Board at Société des Ports du Détroit: Is private investors participation realistic in the port sector?
Stephen O’Driscoll, Head of Division – Air, Maritime and Innovative Transport Mobility Department, Projects Directorate, European Investment Bank: Covering the capital market gap
- Dr Miguel Otero-Iglesias, Senior Analyst, International Political Economy, Elcano Royal Institute, Spain: Chinese investment in Europe, A country level approach

Views of the Ports
- Magnus Karestedt, CEO, Port of Göteborg
- Prof. Aurelio Martínez, CEO, Valencia Port Authority
- Alexandru Craciun, Commercial Director, Port of Constantza

15h45    Coffee break

16h00    Session 3:  Building acceptance for further port development  

Moderator: Richard Ballantyne, Chief Executive, British Ports Association
Sibrand Hassing, Director Fleet Operations Europe, Safety Environmental and Management Services, Holland America Group: How to ensure a sustainable growth of the cruise industry?
Julia Mackin, Principal Advisor Environment and Sustainability Department, EBRD: Port Expansions in the context of financing by EBRD and its sustainability mandate
Malte Siegert, Head of Environmental Policy, Naturschutzbund Deutschland (NABU), Federal office, Hamburg: Opportunities and challenges of  working with stakeholders to build acceptance for port development projects
- Mateu Turró, Professor of Transport at the Polytechnic University of Barcelona: Do’s and don’ts of CBA - Why a good Cost Benefit analysis should be an integral part of any port investment decision?

View of the ports
- Eeva Hietanen, Director of Communications, Port of Helsinki
- Pino Musolino, President, North Adriatic Sea Port Authority
- Koen Overtoom, CEO, Port of Amsterdam
- Lidia Sequeira, President of the Port of Lisbon, President of the Portuguese Association of Ports

17h30  End of the first conference day

19h30  Departure for Conference Dinner

Guest of Honour: Ahmed Aboutaleb, Mayor of Rotterdam


Day Two: Friday, 1 June 2018

09h10    Conference host and Moderator of the day: Rob Heirbaut, European correspondent,  VRT

Erik De Neef, Chairman, Koninklijke Roeiers Vereeniging Eendracht: Investing in efficient and sustainable port operations

09h20    Roundtable 1: Ports and the multimodal and corridor-based TEN-T approach 

Introduction by:
- Paweł Wojciechowski, TEN-T Coordinator Rhine Alpine Corridor
- Catherine Trautmann, TEN-T Coordinator North-Sea Baltic Corridor

Followed by a roundtable discussion with:
- Dirk Steffes, Senior Vice-President Intermodal, DB Cargo AG
- Didier Leandri, Chairman, the French Association of Barge Owners and Operators, Commissioner CCNR
- Hervé Martel, CEO, Port of Le Havre

10h10    Keynote speech by Herald Ruijters, Director at the European Commission, DG MOVE, responsible for investments, innovative and sustainable transport: The new Connecting Europe Facility in the context of the multi-Annual Financial Framework 2021-2027

Dr Peter de Langen, Ports and Logistics Advisory and visiting professor at Copenhagen Business School: Presentation of the study on the infrastructure investment needs of European Ports

First reactions by:
- Kurt Bodewig, TEN-T Coordinator Baltic-Adriatic Corridor
- Brian Simpson, TEN-T Coordinator Motorways of the Sea

Followed by a roundtable discussion with the ports:
- Zeno D’Agostino, President of the Port Network Authority of Eastern Adriatic Sea and President of the Italian Ports Association
- Eamonn O’Reilly, CEO, Port of Dublin and Chairman, ESPO
- Ansis Zeltiņš, CEO, Port of Riga

11h25    Coffee break

11h40    Keynote speech by Lord Adonis: Brexit: How European infrastructure will be affected

12h00    Closing Roundtable 3: How to make ports champion of change?
- Wim van de Camp, Member of the European Parliament
- Knut Fleckenstein, Member of the European Parliament
- Tim Power, Managing Director, Drewry

- Christine Cabau, CEO, Port of Marseille
- Allard Castelein, CEO, Port of Rotterdam
- Jacques Vandermeiren, CEO, Port of Antwerp

13h00    Closing of the ESPO 2018 Conference
Eamonn O’Reilly, Chairman, ESPO

13h10    Announcing ESPO Conference 2019
Stefano Corsini, President of North Tyrrhenian System Ports Authority

13h15    Departure for Port Excursions with light lunch